Tonsillotomy (tonsil reduction)

An enlargement of the palatal tonsils may lead to significant problems in children. In the past, the complete surgical removal of the palatal tonsils (tonsillectomy) was recommended. A minimally invasive method involving only a partial removal of the tonsil tissue offers a patient-friendly procedure which spares your child not only the hospital stay lasting several days, but also the typical surgical risks of a tonsillectomy.

What are tonsils?                                                

The palatal tonsils are part of the immune system and play an important role in fighting off pathogens such as bacteria and viruses. They are positioned between the two palatal arches in the rear part of the oral cavity and can be recognised there as protrusions on both sides.

What does the procedure involve?

ENT doctors have several minimally invasive procedures such as radio frequency or laser methods at their disposal. In our practice, we apply the radio frequency method, which allows for the removal of the excess palatal tonsil tissue in a way which is particularly gentle on the tissue, targeted, low in bleeding and low-risk.

When is a tonsillotomy appropriate?

The objective is to “make room” in the throat area, so to speak, thus enabling the child to breathe and swallow unhindered once again. If the palatal tonsils move backwards during sleep, the air that moves through the area produces typical sounds: The child snores. This can even lead to breathing stops (sleep apnoea) in many cases. The sleep is restless and frequently broken. The results of the poor sleep are noticeable during the day: The children are tired, unable to concentrate or keyed up and their performance is below par. Since their sense of smell and taste is often additionally limited and even swallowing can be restricted, their appetite is reduced and their growth and thriving may be disrupted. Combined with enlarged pharyngeal tonsils (polyps), other symptoms such as an increased susceptibility to infection, hearing difficulties, aberrations in the jaw and tooth area and speech development delays may occur.

What are the special features of the tonsillotomy?

The tonsillotomy is an ideal method to achieve a very good treatment result without exposing the child to the risks of a tonsillectomy – the complete removal of the palatal tonsils. This means less pain, a lower risk of secondary bleeding and thus a far quicker recovery. An additional advantage: The tonsils that remain can continue to carry out their role in immunity. This is especially significant for smaller children, since the immunological learning stage is not complete until school-going age.

Is an out-patient intervention sufficient?

During the partial removal of the palatal tonsils, the risk of a complication is distinctly low. International studies have shown that children recover significantly faster after a tonsillotomy and complain about pain far less often than after a tonsillectomy.

Is any special follow-up treatment required?

No, only one or two follow-up inspections are required for progress monitoring. In most cases, the children are back to normal and free from symptoms just a few days after the intervention – and symptoms such as bad breath have also disappeared.

Are these costs covered by health insurance?

Both private and statutory health insurance providers cover all costs of the surgery.

Tonsillotomie (Mandelverkleinerung)

Eine Vergrößerung der Gaumenmandeln kann bei Kindern erhebliche Probleme bereiten. Früher wurde meist zu einer operativen Totalentfernung der Gaumenmandeln (Tonsillektomie) geraten. Mit einer minimal-invasiven Methode, bei der nur ein Teil des Mandelgewebes abgetragen wird, steht ein patientenfreundliches Verfahren zu Verfügung, das ihrem Kind nicht nur den mehrtätigen Krankenhausaufenthalt, sondern auch die typischen Operationsrisiken einer Tonsillektomie erspart.

Was sind Tonsillen?                                                

Die Gaumenmandeln (Tonsillen) sind ein Teil des Immunsystems und für die Abwehr von Krankheitserregern wie Bakterien und Viren wichtig. Sie liegen zwischen den beiden Gaumenbögen im hinteren Bereich der Mundhöhle und sind dort als Vorwölbenden auf beiden Seiten zu erkennen.

Wie ist die Vorgehensweise?

HNO-Ärzten stehen mehrere minimal-invasive Verfahren zu Verfügung, wie z.B. die Radiofrequenz- oder auch Laser-Methode. Wir wenden in unserer Praxis die Radiofrequenzmethode an, die eine besonders gewebeschonende, zielgenaue, blutungs- und risikoarme Abtragung des überschüssigen Gaumenmandelgewebes erlaubt.

Wann ist eine Tonsillotomie angebracht?

Es geht darum, im Rachenraum gewissermaßen „Platz zu schaffen“, damit das Kind wieder ungehindert atmen und schlucken kann. Rutschen die Gaumenmandeln im Schlaf nach hinten, produziert die durchstreifende Atemluft typische Laute: Das Kind schnarcht. Nicht selten kommt es sogar zu Atemaussetzern (Schlafapnoe). Der Schlaf ist unruhig und wird häufiger unterbrochen. Die Folgen des schlechten Schlafs äußern sich auch am Tag: Die Kinder sind oft unausgeschlafen, unkonzentriert oder überdreht und sind nicht so leistungsfähig. Da zudem oft das Geruchs- und Geschmacksempfinden beeinträchtigt ist und sogar das Schlucken behindert sein kann, haben sie weniger Appetit, und es können sich Wachstums- und Gedeihstörungen entwickeln. In Kombination mit vergrößerten Rachenmandeln (Polypen) können weiter Symptome wie eine erhöhte Infektanfälligkeit, Schwerhörigkeit, Fehlentwicklungen im Kiefer-Zahn-Bereich und Sprachentwicklungsverzögerungen entstehen.

Durch was zeichnet sich die Tonsillotomie besonders aus?

Die Tonsillotomie ist eine ideale Methode, um ein sehr gutes Behandlungsergebnis zu erzielen, ohne das Kind den Risiken einer Tonsillektomie, der vollständigen Entfernung der Gaumenmandeln, auszusetzen. Das bedeutet weniger Schmerzen, eine geringeres Nachblutungsrisiko und somit eine wesentlich schnellere Genesung. Ein weiterer Pluspunkt: Die erhaltenen Mandeln können weiterhin ihre Abwehrfunktion erfüllen. Dies ist vor allem für kleinere Kinder bedeutsam, denn erst im Schulalter ist die immunologische Lernphase abgeschlossen.

Ist ein ambulanter Eingriff ausreichend?

Das Risiko einer Komplikation ist bei einer Teilentfernung der Gaumenmandeln ausgesprochen gering. Internationale Studien haben ergeben, dass sich die Kinder nach einer Tonsillotomie wesentlich schneller erholen und viel seltener über Schmerzen klagen als nach einer Tonsillektomie.

Ist eine spezielle Nachbehandlung notwendig?

Nein, zur Verlaufskontrolle sind lediglich ein oder zwei Nachuntersuchungen erforderlich. Meist sind die Kinder bereits wenige Tage nach dem Eingriff wieder fit und beschwerdefrei – und auch die Symptome wie z.B. Mundgeruch sind verschwunden.

Übernimmt die Krankenkasse diese Kosten?

Sowohl Privatkassen als auch gesetzliche Krankenkassen übernehmen die kompletten Operationskosten.