The best route to being completely free from symptoms is to consistently avoid (eliminate) the allergen which triggers the disorder. However, for most allergens such as pollen, certain types of mould and some animal hairs, this is not possible.

Acute allergic complaints may be treated using medications. Depending on the type of active substance, they can either weaken or fully suppress allergic reactions. A distinction is made between systemic and topical medications.

Systemic medications:

Systemic medications affect the whole body and are mostly administered in the form of tablets or injections.

Topical medications:

The effect of topical medications is restricted to the area of the body to which they are applied. Typical examples are ointments, nasal or eye drops and asthma inhalers.

Advantages and disadvantages of treatment using medications 

Advantage:

  • Fast, positive effect 

Disadvantage:

  • No lasting improvement of the allergy
  • Very expensive over the long term
  • Patients need to keep their medications close at hand always      

An allergy may deteriorate over the course of time The symptoms may intensify and spread to the lungs, additional allergies may also emerge. Therefore, you should check whether hyposensitisation applies in your case because the allergy can then be treated from a causal viewpoint. This therapy can cure your symptoms fully or at least significantly reduce them.

Der beste Weg zu vollständiger Beschwerdefreiheit ist die konsequente Meidung (Karenz) der krankheitsauslösenden Allergene. Für die meisten Allergene wie z.B. Pollen, bestimmte Schimmelpilze und manche Tierhaare ist dies jedoch nicht möglich.

Akute allergische Beschwerden können mit Medikamenten behandelt werden. Je nach Art des Wirkstoffs werden dabei allergische Reaktionen entweder unterbunden oder abgeschwächt. Es wird zwischen systemischen und topischen Medikamenten unterschieden.

Systemische Medikamente:

Systemische Medikamente wirken auf den gesamten Organismus und werden meist in Form von Tabletten oder Spritzen verabreicht.

Topische Medikamente:

Topische Medikamente beschränken Ihre Wirkung auf den Bereich des Körpers, an dem sie angewendet werden. Typische Beispiele sind Salben, Nasentropfen, Augentropfen und Asthma-Sprays.

Vor- und Nachteile der medikamentösen Behandlung 

Vorteil:

  • schneller, positver Effekt 

Nachteil:

  • keine dauerhafte Verbesserung der Allergie
  • langfristig sehr teuer
  • Medikamente müssen immer mitgeführt werden      

Eine Allergie kann sich im Laufe der Zeit verschlimmern. Die Beschwerden können sich verstärken und auch auf die Lunge übergreifen, auch können weitere Allergien hinzukommen. Daher sollten Sie prüfen, ob eine Hyposensibilisierung für Sie in Frage kommt, denn damit kann die Allergie ursächlich behandelt werden. Diese Therapie kann Ihre Beschwerden vollständig heilen oder zumindest erheblich lindern